Skip to content

Home where my thoughts are escaping

December 29, 2012

I leave Houston on Sunday to return to NYC, and it feels like the time has gone by quite quickly. I spent most of the first week here reading obsessively and hanging with my parents, and spent most of the second week hanging with my parents and drinking with friends from high school / middle school and reading less than the first week. I also went to the gym a lot with my sister, which was nice in a kind of “Oh, right, those things that move my limbs are called muscles and if I work them they’ll move my limbs better” way. My dog has spent the entire period of my visit either on the couch or hunting for food in the kitchen. Come to think of it, I’ve been doing much the same thing.

Today I went with my parents, sister, and my uncle and aunt (well, technically my dad’s cousin and his wife but WHATEVER I do what I want) to the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, to see their War|Photography exhibit, which was moving and intense and visceral and … overwhelming? and also somehow oddly organized and disorienting MUCH LIKE WAR ITSELF, come to think of it. It was a very broad exhibit and had several very cool civil-war era (and earlier) daguerrotypes, that one had to hold a black card against in order to see it in the light. The photographs from WWI were very cool, as well, and the entire thing was pretty much heartbreaking.

Afterwards we got dinner at a place in Houston that wasn’t there the last time I was here and I drank like three of these EXTREMELY tasty St. Germain-and-Prosecco-based cocktails and then came home, where my dad and sister and I watched the end of Holes and two episodes of Pride & Prejudice and now I’m in my kitchen with my mom, typing while she learns lines.

All in all, 2012 was good. A little rough, a little good, a lot busy, a lot feeling very lucky. I hope for much of the same for 2013, for myself and for all my fives of readers out there.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

