Skip to content

Addendum to previous post

December 21, 2012
tags: ,

Since I got back to Houston I have carried through with my promise to spend a lot of time reading:

Shades of Milk & Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal
The Black Tower by P.D. James
A Mind to Murder by P.D. James
The Skull Beneath the Skin by P.D. James
An Unsuitable Job for a Woman by P.D. James

As I said before, I don’t actually engage much with Goodreads’ social features- I follow a few people’s updates but don’t pay attention to them, and I never write reviews of the books I’ve read on the site itself. But Goodreads’ stats feature has kept me extremely competitive with myself- can I read more books this year than last year? For improvements, I’d love to see Goodreads do a map of your reading over time, not just by year. (Obviously if this already exists, someone needs to let me know.) Over half the books I read this year I read in the last three months, when I started making a conscious effort to read more in an effort to be more engaged with my queries. (How can you recognize good stuff in the inbox if you don’t read good stuff outside of it, is my theory.)

So, yeah. I highly recommend Goodreads or something like it (LibraryThing is the other I can think of- any other suggestions?) if you want to read more and want to be more competitive with yourself about it. And if you think 53 books in a year is good, there are others who have put me to shame- Pam van Hycklama read 100 published books this  year, and Roxane Gay’s (epic!) end-of-year list had 136 books on it AND THAT WAS LIKE TWO WEEKS AGO.

My goal for next year, I think, isn’t necessarily going to read more, but to write more about what I’ve read–what I liked, what I didn’t like, what made me incandescent with rage, what made me cry a lot. I tend to be pretty passive in my Internet presence- retweeting/reblogging is so EASY, y’all- and should really do more with this space right here.

Anyone else have reading goals for 2013, now that the world hasn’t ended?

Edited to add: Wow, that is a lot of P.D. James in a short period of time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 8, 2013 2:09 pm

    Why not write reviews? Occupational hazard? I skip the “here’s the whole story” reviews and just tell people if a book is worth reading, and on what occasion (if you really need to cry, if you don’t mind staying up until midnight turning pages, if you loved Great Expectations). It’s fun!

    My goal is to FINISH Guns, Germs, and Steel – it’s been on my reading list since my first year at MHC and I’m about halfway through now. It’s hard to make yourself drag a big book on the T just to read about the evolution of acorns, but every time I dive back in, I appreciate it more.

Leave a Reply

