Skip to content

Reading update

April 23, 2012

I am currently reading:

Compass Reach by Mark W. Tiedemann (Full disclosure: He’s my client! I’m loving this one so far. It’s the first in a trilogy.)

And also…

Ulysses by James Joyce (It’s for a book club, OK?)
Meditations on the Tarot by Anonymous (It sounded interesting)

2012 Books So Far: 

Deathless by Catherynne M. Valente
This is a reimagining of the Russian fairy tale of Koschei the Deathless and his wife Marya Morevna, set in Soviet Russia. It. Is. So. Good.

The Lampshade: A Holocaust Detective Story from Buchenwald to New Orleans by Mark  Jacobson
Depressing, depressing, depressing, interesting, depressing.

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy by John LeCarre
Loved the book, loved the movie! Can’t wait to read more in the Karla trilogy.

Striding Folly by Dorothy L. Sayers
A collection of short stories about my very favorite detective, Lord Peter Wimsey. This contains the short story Talboys, which is a nice look at the Wimseys en famille after he and Harriet Vane have had a couple of kids.

Cold Magic by Kate Elliott
I… liked it? I want to read the other two in the series, but I’m not sure when I’m going to have time.

I think by this time last year I had read about three times this many books, but I just don’t have as much time as I used to. I’ve read about six other full novels that aren’t on this list that were for work. I think I need to get the prescription upped on my reading glasses.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. markwt permalink
    April 23, 2012 8:10 pm

    Ulysses, cool. When you finish, let’s talk. We did that as part of our reading group a few years back and did an absolutely exhaustive analysis (three professors, a writer, and a couple of serious amateur critics). One hint, if you haven’t been told this yet: the plot does not imitate the Odyssey, even though broad scenes are based on it, but instead it seems to be patterned on “A Study In Scarlet.”

  2. April 23, 2012 8:15 pm

    Right now I’m not so much “reading” Ulysses as “It is sitting on my bedside table, I’m 300 pages in, and it keeps looking at me reproachfully as I read other things.” But if the plot is patterned on A Study In Scarlet, I might have to be more diligent…

Leave a Reply

