Skip to content

Borders’ loss is my immediate, massive gain

February 21, 2011

So, this is going to be a quick one, because I just got home from work and it is 1:30 AM and I have another work tomorrow morning, BUT!

The Borders bookstore by my aunt’s apartment in Battery Park City is closing, and all books and CDs and DVDs are 30% off!!

WHICH MEANS!

1. stephen sondheim: finishing the hat

2. umberto eco: on literature

3. jorge luis borges: on writing (contains the essay: the labyrinths of the detective story & chesterton)

4. brave new worlds: dystopian stories edited by john joseph adams

5. gertrude himmelfarb: victorian minds, a study of intellectuals in crisis and ideologies in transition (where the f was this when I wrote my thesis?!?!?!)

I also picked up a new notebook since I had filled my last one up.

All those links above are to the Borders store. Think what you will about big-box bookstores and the death of culture, but I love Borders, and Barnes & Noble, because I can usually find what I need while drinking coffee. Also, Borders still owes lots of publishers back payments, so if you support them, those publishers (and authors! and by extension, literary agents! and those agents’ assistants!) have a better chance of getting paid.

So yeah! reading! And thank you to my mom, who is visiting this weekend, for funding this massive glut of reading material!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 5:55 pm

    Totally hit up the DVD section when I was in Boston last weekend and I plan on going to a Borders in NJ this weekend. Cheapish Criterions, here I come!

  2. Lynn Hedrick permalink
    April 12, 2011 1:10 pm

    Ours closed too. I am really upset. Was my hang place with coffee too after a brisk walk over there. Sigh

Leave a Reply

