Skip to content

Reading List, Continued / Updated

January 22, 2011

Some of the books I ordered with my amazon.com loot from Christmas came in!

liberation! or the story of the slick six after the fall of the united states of america by Brian Slattery. He’s one of our clients, and I read this before I joined the agency, and it’s amazing.

palimpsest & habitation of the blessed: a dirge for prester john by Catherynne M. Valente. Palimpsest is about a “sexually transmitted city,” which, awesome, and habitation of the blessed I found out about because of this awesome youtube video:

After seeing that, I thought “Wow! I have no idea what that is, but this description is so awesome that I must read more.” And when given free money, one should at least try to be somewhat adventurous with it.

A bit more about Cat Valente: her blog, if you are not already reading it (which you aren’t, more than likely, but you should!) is amazing. Her writing is pretty great across the board, and this recent piece has really stayed with me:

from “That Ladder of Success is Looking More & More Like a Chain

It’s a life that was sold to us by advertising and was accessible to even just one generation back, but is largely unavailable to their children. Even the chance at it is so incredibly difficult to grasp. That life which was not even considered to be particularly well off 30 years ago, simply comfortable and middling, now looks like impossible riches. A house at the meeting point of two rivers, full of light, as clean as a perfect credit report.

Anyway, go read it! And read her books! She’s pretty rad! There are some really exciting writers out there in fantasyland right now & hopefully in 2011 I’ll be able to pull my shit together to do more reading.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2011 3:44 am

    Hey, I read a book yesterday! Except it was The Reader and it more “Hey, I remember when Kate Winslet did this in the movie.” Woo… Thanks for the suggestions. I think I need them.

  2. January 22, 2011 3:47 am

    Hahaha go joanna! 🙂 I definitely recommend liberation, as that’s the only book on that list up there that I’ve read already. I also just finished Yours Ever: People and Their Letters, and it was great.

Leave a Reply

