Skip to content

Things are generally quite good!

January 20, 2011

Well! Happy new year! Happy 2011! Made any fun resolutions made that we’ll all fail to follow in the days to come? I know I have.

I, for one, decided to over-achieve and get one of my new year’s resolutions done before the new year even started. That’s right! the resolution I didn’t really even know I had to Find Gainful Full-Time Employment So I Don’t Have To Work Seven Days A Week Anymore is ACHIEVED. Checked off. Resolved and carried. Yes! that’s right! I am now a legit full-time employee of the literary agency that I’ve been working at as an intern since last July. I’m an agent assistant and I love it. I love my job, I love the industry so far, and I really love not waking up and dreading going to work!

Of course, the financial reality of life being what it is, I still have a bunch of credit card debt (although, really, it’s not as bad as it could be, for which I am grateful). I’ve decided to keep my Retail Job in addition to the full-time gig for the next six to seven months in order to pay off said credit card debt and get a little bit of saving started. Don’t worry, my fives of readers, this won’t turn into one of those personal finance blogs that says you can pay off $28K in debt using only sheer willpower and a toothpick, though I may celebrate financial milestones from time to time by posting photos of myself flashing my big bag of laundry change. Washing clothes like a boss, indeed.

In other “2011 is going to rule” news I have had a tentative offer to do some writing for a Website That Is Not Mine, which is exciting, and some friends and I have a few cool projects in the works, so my resolution to “get something published that isn’t on your blog” is on track to be achieved.

Unfortunately, my resolution not to have a catastrophic back pain episode in 2011 has already failed parlessly. Last saturday my roommate and I drove out to Jersey City to pick up some furniture that a friend of my aunt’s was giving away, and I must have done something to it, because yesterday and today it’s back to hobbling around, taking muscle relaxers, and sleeping with a pillow tucked between my legs. I apologized to the agent who shares the table in the library with me for all the grunty pain noises I was making every time I sat up or stood or moved, but I think some kind of baked good apology is in order. You know, “Here’s some muffins, sorry I keep groaning like an extra from  The Walking Dead.”

Still! Things are Quite Good! And in addition to all the bounty of blessings life is throwing at me, today I go to tumblr & ontd and find that the good Lord has sent us, at long last, promo photos from X-Men: First Class, two out of three of which involve Michael Fassbender in a turtleneck.

So! 2011! Off to a good start! How about you?

 

EDITED TO ADD: 2011 has also been brightened by seeing a reading of Mr. Bob Leeds’ excellent play Of Butterflies and Beasts at the Lambs Theatrical club. 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nancie permalink
    January 20, 2011 1:34 am

    Congratulations on the job!! That is my dream job, so there is some blatant envy, too.

    Sorry to hear about your back, hope you are sprinting around soon. And baked goods will ususally buy forgiveness for just about anything.

  2. January 20, 2011 4:27 pm

    Congrats on the job! We should get drinks when I come to NYC this spring and I can introduce you to my sis, who is also in publishing.

    Also, muffins, especially banana chocolate chip, are the perfect zombie antidote.

  3. January 20, 2011 9:27 pm

    sally! When are you coming to the city? We should DEFINITELY get together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

