Skip to content

I don’t care how whackadoo this looks.

November 10, 2010

I’m going to see it, the second it comes out.

There have been approximately one thousand adaptations of Jane Eyre, including my personal favorite with Orson Welles as Rochester, but this one looks alternately good and insane. Mia Wasikowska looks about the right age for Jane (i.e. she looks twelve). The only thing that doesn’t quite work is that when Rochester asks her if she finds him handsome, and she replies “no,” she is clearly lying, because, damn:

In all seriousness, Jane Eyre is one my favorite books Of All Time, and I feel like the story is so solid that it’s hard to cinematically eff it up (I am looking right at you, William Hurt & Charlotte Gainsbourg.) I wrote my final paper for my “Gender & Class in the Victorian Novel” seminar in college on marriage in Jane Eyre, how Bronte shows us all these sham, flawed visions of marriage before she lets her heroine find a true partnership. All academic/literary wank aside, I’m also  excited about this movie because it’s directed by Cary Fukunaga, who directed the excellent, slightly depressing Sin Nombre. The trailer makes it look like they’re playing up the gothic elements quite a bit, which I like. They’ve also returned Blanche Ingraham to her natural, true status as a brunette, unlike the last two adaptations (Ruth Wilson/Toby Stephens and, inexplicably, Samantha Morton/Ciaran Hinds). And laying aside the massive Verdana Font Fail that is the titles in the trailer, I’m sitting here asking: why isn’t it March 2011 yet?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2010 10:48 pm

    I’m so so so there. I love Jane Eyre and like Pride and Prejudice, I will watch any adaptation of it.

  2. November 11, 2010 2:15 am

    @Jrarcieri – totally. It’s one of those books where I see the adaptations, no matter if I expect them to be awful or not (see: 2005 Pride & Prejudice adaptation, which was An Abomination Unto The Adaptation Lord.)

Leave a Reply

